Challenge: Day #4 The Daily Dose Of… Oversized Pickups

To Anna Hofman

Challenge #4: You have just swallowed your pride and done something you didn’t want to. Your friend wants to know why. The two of you are driving around an almost-full parking garage looking for a space for the friend’s oversized pickup. Write the scene.

A (a person who has just denied their dignity)

Look! There’s some space.

B (owner of a dusty-red pickup)

Don’t change the subject…

A

I mean it! Right over there.

B

Do NOT… okay, you’re right. Let’s see if it’s big enough.

/It wasn’t./

Crap.

A

I told you to buy a smaller car!

B

What did you expect me to do?! I won this one after a bet. Oh, speaking of bets…

A

Don’t you dare…

B

Was it fun?

A

Yeah, sure. Almost as much as parking this f…at car!

B

Come on. Why did you agree to do it in a first place?

A

I do not take a bet unless I know I will win.

B

However…

A

Fine, I could have been wrong this one time. What are you waiting for?! Look at this driver. You see? I bet he’s about to leave.

B

I’m waiting for your explanation.

A

Then we can wait forever.

B

No… not really. The air conditioning is broke.

A

Are you threatening me?

B

No. Just pointing out the fact that you can either tell my why you lost, or we will boil.

A

Fine. It might have had something to do with last summer…

B

Oh no, are you suggesting that…

A

Yes.

B

And you were…

A

Indeed!

B

Oh. Wow. That…

A

…escalated quickly, I know. Now park this goddamn car, your air freshener’s smell makes me want to puke.

Good friends understand each other without using too many words.

Leave a Reply

